(Persons Listed In This Politics Guide Are Not of the Unity Party Unless Noted Otherwise)

The US Senate is the upper chamber of the United States Congress which, along with the US House of Representatives, comprises the legislature of the United States.

The Senate is composed of 100 Senators, each of whom represents one of the 50 states in its entirety along with a colleague. Each state is equally represented by two Senators who serve staggered terms of six years (see below for the three “classes” of Senators). Until 1913, Senators were appointed by legislatures of the states they represented; following the ratification of the 17th Amendment US Senators are now elected by popular vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *