US Senators and Representatives Retiring / Resigned / Not Seeking Re-election in 2020

There are (so far) 23 Republican and 6 Democratic Members of Congress listed by state and office below who have announced that they are not seeking re-election in 2020. View this list as an indication of states and districts across the country where a third party candidate can make a bigger-than-otherwise impact (than if they were running against an entrenched incumbent).

Feel free to comment below the list with updates.

This content provided courtesy Bill’s Politics List.

  1. Bradley Byrne (R) > Alabama 1st (Running for Senate)
  2. Martha Roby (R) > Alabama 2nd
  3. Paul Cook (R) > California 8th (Running for San Bernardino County Supervisor)
  4. Susan Davis (D) > California 53rd
  5. Rob Woodall (R) > Georgia 7th
  6. John Shimkus (R) > Illinois 15th
  7. Susan Brooks (R) > Indiana 5th
  8. Dave Loebsack (D) > Iowa 2nd
  9. Pat Roberts (R) > Senator for Kansas
  10. Roger “Doc” Marshall (R) > Kansas 1st (Running for Senate)
  11. Joe Kennedy III (D) > Massachusetts 4th (Running for Senate)
  12. Paul Mitchell (R) > Michigan 10th
  13. Greg Gianforte (R) > Montana At-Large (Running for Governor)
  14. Tom Udall (D) > Senator for New Mexico
  15. Ben Ray Luján (D) > New Mexico 3rd (Running for Senate)
  16. Jose Serrano (D) > New York 15th
  17. Chris Collins (R) > New York 27th (Resigned with multi-felony guilty plea)
  18. Richard Burr (R) > Senator for North Carolina
  19. Lamar Alexander (R) > Senator for Tennessee
  20. Mike Conaway (R) > Texas 11th
  21. Mac Thornberry (R) > Texas 13th
  22. Bill Flores (R) > Texas 17th
  23. Pete Olson (R) > Texas 22nd
  24. Will Hurd (R) > Texas 23rd
  25. Kenny Marchant (R) > Texas 24th
  26. Rob Bishop (R) > Utah 1st
  27. Jim Sensenbrenner (R) > Wisconsin 5th
  28. Sean Duffy (R) > Wisconsin 7th (Resigned “to spend more time with family”)
  29. Mike Enzi (R) > Senator for Wyoming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *